Drop One/Add One for 2013

2013 will be a Big Year for me and so I do not know how I will use DO/AO. After a year away from study, I am returning to complete my Honours year of my Bachelor of Psychological Science. For those who don’t know, Honours is a bonus year of a three-year undergraduate bachelor degree. I had to get pretty good marks to be accepted into it (I’m still pretty proud). For the first time since returning to university (at age 27, I’m now 32-and-four-days) I will be properly full-time, and I will be responsible for a research project of my own.

I will be continuing to work at my research job, as the hours are fairly flexible and usually outside school hours (as I am mostly visiting our adolescent participants at their homes). I may continue some of my relief teaching, but this will be much harder to fit into my uni schedule.

I am expecting a busy and stressful year!

I suspect that I won’t have mental space to really focus on weekly DO/AO challenges. I’ve been learning a lot while doing DO/AO and one thing I now know is that I’m better when I don’t split my attention among too many projects because I flit from one to the other and don’t do any of them properly. I do intend to try to keep blogging, because another thing I’ve learned is that blogging keeps my mind less cluttered and stressed, but I don’t know how much of the blogging will be here. I do also intend to try to put into practise a lot of the things I have learned about managing my time, my stress, my tasks and my fitness. If I can get through this year without being completely overwhelmed then I think I will have come a long way!

For now, you can expect an occasional post about anything related to DO/AO challenges, health, organisation, fitness, weight loss, positivity, emotional wellbeing, psychology and general lifestyle.

By the way, some of you may be interested to know that my Honours research project this year will be in the area of Autism. I will help out with a larger PhD project following a cohort of toddlers at high risk for Autism (because they have an older sibling with Autism) and will carve myself a smaller research question from this data.

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Reflections and Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

