Week 42: Drop Negative Self-Comparison/Add Rising Early

I’m feeling somewhat competent – even confident – with work at the moment. It seems now is an advantageous time to really try to drop those negative self-comparisons with which my brain likes to oppress me. Not the task of only a week, I know, but if I can manage a week it will make a big difference.

I will have at least two days of teaching, some research-related work at the hospital and a research home visit or two. Work is one of the main places where I fall prey to these negative comparisons. Even when I’ve had a good day, I see others at work or even imagine others at work and worry that I’m not as good.

This week, I am going to strengthen the self-believe I’ve been working so hard to build recently. It is not a week where I anticipate having any extremely stressful or challenging work tasks, and so it is a good chance for me to completely drop any thoughts that I am not as capable as others. In fact, I may even be able to just enjoy being myself!

I used to feel that morning was my most productive time of the day, but somehow that has changed. When I attended First Uni (my Arts/Teaching degree) ten years ago and had an assignment due, I would wake early and lie in bed mulling over my assignment. After a while, I’d just have to get out of bed and make a start while all my thoughts were fresh. And so, in the quiet freshness of the morning I’d work away solidly for many hours. Pulling “all-nighters” never worked, as my brain seemed to switch off after 9 or 10pm.

These days, my brain is still no good for things like essay writing after about 9pm, but it also seems to hate to get going in the morning. I noticed that particularly this week, when I really wanted to get out and be active, but instead consistently chose a sedate, indulgent start to my day.

So, this week, I want to get up early every day. The days that I am working in the morning I’ll be forced to rise very early anyway. It’s those other mornings when I’d love to lie in bed and then slouch around the house for a few hours that I’d like to force myself up. I know this might be a bit unpleasant, but I’m not going to try for unreasonably early. I want to be up around 8am, 8:20am at the latest. If I can get into the habit of rising early, then I can perhaps take the hour or that I seem to need at the moment to get going and still start doing something with my day before lunchtime rolls around!

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 42: Drop Negative Self-Comparison/Add Rising Early

  1. Well done and good luck with your shifts

  2. Pingback: Week 44: Weightloss Special | Drop One, Add One

Leave a Reply

