If I’d known they had super-sonic treadmills…

Well, if I’d known they had super-sonic* treadmills, maybe I would have braved the gym a lot sooner!

Yes, I managed to drag myself to the gym today! I am so very proud of myself! It was quite nifty, actually, because I got a little new member’s bag and towel and got a tour of the facilities. (I have been here before, but only to use the pool and not for a long time.)

The main thing I planned to do today was to try the treadmills. I have never actually used a treadmill before (unless walking in the wrong direction on an airport travelator counts!) and it is my main motivation for going to the gym.

Oh. My. Goodness. I didn’t know about the super-sonic treadmills. Did you??

The treadmills had big screens on them on which I could:
Play music.
Watch TV – including Pay TV! (*squee* We only have free-to-air at home.)
Play computer games!
Browse the web!!
Connect my iPod!!!!

I was in electronicky-nerdy heaven! All the connectivity wonderousness makes me want to go to the gym just to play!

I had brought my iPod with me, so today I chose to try that out. I watched about three TED talks and found the machine automatically recording my workouts to my iPod! More super-sonic niftyness!

I also discovered that walking on treadmills is actually easier than walking normally. It is because, when I normally go for a walk, I have to propel myself by pushing my whole weight forward. On the treadmill, I just lift my feet and the ground whizzes away beneath me!

Of course, the main thing I learned is that, as usual, I imagined the whole thing would be a bigger deal than it actually was. I’m proud of myself for going, because it shows that I’m getting better at not letting all of the possible negatives stop me from trying things. I’m also proud of myself for actually sticking to my plan and not deciding it was just easier to stay at home and do other things. Now that I am over the fear of the unfamiliar, I need to try to keep up the habit of getting myself out the door!

Finally, I just want to say a big thank-you to two of my wonderful friends: Amber has been always encouraging and gave me the inspiration to buy the gym membership in the first place. Vivien gave me the little spur of encouragement I needed to keep myself moving out the door today and wonderful reinforcement.

Why I Am Great: I am liked by and befriended by some amazing people.

* Yes, I am aware they are not actually sonic, but allow me some Doctor Who pretendy-fun!

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Mid-Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I’d known they had super-sonic treadmills…

  1. Viv says:

    And thank you! You’re _my_ inspiration. You especially were when you started this blog and especially again this week.

  2. Pingback: Week 41 Review: Out with the television and in with the treadmill | Drop One, Add One

Leave a Reply

