Week 41: Drop Electronic Entertainment/Add Gym Visits

Sometimes life gets in the way of things I want or intend to do. Sometimes facebook does.

This week I will drop idle computer and TV use.

This means that I have banned myself from facebook, I am not allowed to watch online TV and I may not even play MS Hearts/Solitaire/Spider/Freecell etc. I will identify the few television programs I actually really want to watch and the television will stay off at all other times.

I know I have done similar challenges before, but it is worth revisiting until it becomes more of a habit, more of a lifestyle change. What I will let myself do online are all those things that I intend to do before I get distracted by something that requires less mental energy. So I can blog and write as much as I like, and I can do anything that involves learning, practising or educating and enlightening myself.

I am a little scared about what I’m trying to add this week.

A few weeks ago I was inspired by a special deal at my local leisure centre: $29 for 6 weeks of unlimited use (pool, gym, fitness classes). I am perpetually poor and my rather pitiful attempts at walking regularly are continually hampered by winter rains or getting home from work too late. This seemed like a perfect opportunity to finally take advantage of the protected gym environment, without having to commit a lot of money to a year-long membership I may hardly use. I can go to the gym and use the treadmill when the weather is too bad or it has become too dark for walking. I could even try out some classes or the use the pool (I love swimming) and make my exercise more entertaining. Sometimes one has to try something new if the same old thing isn’t getting good enough results!

So, this week I will add at least two visits to the leisure centre.

I know I said that I feel like I am turning a corner, but I will never really have made it around the bend* until I’ve got my fitness on track. There have been things that have got in the way (ill health, unpredictible work, bad weather) but the main issue is just me struggling to get going consistently. I much prefer staying.

If it is a struggle to work myself up to the point of merely stepping out my front door for a walk, you can imagine how difficult I find it to get myself in the car and travelling to exercise! I find this with any activity, class or group to which I voluntarily commit.

And so, I’m a little scared of this week’s challenge. I’m scared that I’m setting myself a goal that I just won’t follow through with.

I’m also scared that, having committed myself, I will actually make myself get up and go!

I guess this is one of those times when I need to focus on the attempt rather than the success (or effort) once I’m there. I always get nervous about starting new things and worry about it being stupid. This is one of those times when I need to not worry about having a perfect positive experience. I just need to get myself there at least twice to begin to get used to it.

*Edit: I was being very earnest here, but, on re-reading, I realise that perhaps wasn’t the best phrase to use. After all, we all know I’m crazily round the bend!

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 41: Drop Electronic Entertainment/Add Gym Visits

  1. Viv says:

    Good luck, Zai! For me, I find driving to exercise easier than the stark contrast of my comfy home vs going for a run right outside my door. Getting in the car and driving there eases me into it and once I’m there I can hardly go home. It’s when I have to PT for exercise where it starts to become a battle of perceived cost vs perceived benefit 😉

    • Zaiene says:

      Hehe! Thanks!
      I think for me it’s sometimes a time + effort thing. If I go for a walk I need my front door key and my phone+headphones and that’s all. It takes me 0 minutes to reach my exercise destination and as soon as I’m done I’m where I have everything else I need (water, change of clothes, space to stretch) and don’t have to then add commute home time. If I drive somewhere I need to make sure I’ve got more things with me (e.g. licence, towel, water, car keys) and I have to add commute time. So what could have been a 30-40minute bit of exercise becomes a 1.5-2hr block out of my day!
      (That’s assuming I get myself out the door for anything.)
      But that doesn’t mean I can’t do it.

  2. Pingback: Week 44: Weightloss Special | Drop One, Add One

Leave a Reply

