Week 39 Review: The birds have flown but the mushrooms are here to stay.

Last week I dropped electronic clutter. I don’t think I had completely appreciated how big a task this was!

I began with the most momentus of all my electronic decluttering: I removed all four versions of Angry Birds from my smartphone! I then removed more game apps, or apps that I hardly ever use. I find these days that if I have even a moment of not knowing what to do, I turn to my phone apps, if not my computer, to provide immediate stimulation. So the decluttering not only frees up memory on my phone, it will hopefully help to train my mind not to think of my gadgets first and waste time.

I have also unliked a whole range of products and organisations on fb, most of which I only liked in the first place in order to enter a competition! I have unfollowed a number of twitter accounts. I have also unsubscribed from numerous newsletters for products and organisations, too. It had got to a stage where I was ignoring twice as many emails or posts from these organisations as I was reading things from people I actually know!

Yet I have learned that, like decluttering physical things from my house, electronic decluttering has to be done in stages. After removing, unliking, unfollowing and unsubscribing, I find I still have far too many unnecessary things clogging up my virtual environment! I will need to have another bout of even more ruthless electronic decluttering. Having started, I can see so many more ways that I could simplify things – combining my two existing email accounts into a single new one, reorganising my backup external hard drive and simply culling more and more and more!

Last week I added foods I don’t usually eat.

I can’t say I’ve actually learned to like any new food yet (although there are still many more to try). What I did discover is I can eat mushrooms if they’re very finely chopped up and hidden in a mushroomy sauce. I quite like the taste mushrooms add to things, but I dislike eating the actual mushrooms. Mushrooms are such a great source of nutrition, including antioxidants and vitamin D, that I count this week as a huge success even though this is the main positive outcome. I also experimented cooking with limes, which I quite like the flavour of. Other things were less successful, and I couldn’t even bring myself to eat the carrot (mashed-with-potato) that I made!

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Weekly Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

