Week 39: Drop electronic clutter/Add new foods

I had big plans for this week, but now I am sick, so I have had to re-evaluate!

This week I am attempting to drop some of the electronic clutter in my life. I seem to be a natural hoarder and time-waster and this translates to the electronic things in my life as well as the physical things. There are many apps on my phone that I have because I might occasionally need them or because they’re good for when I want to fill some time (which of course really means waste some time). I have music on my iPod or computer just in case I want to listen but never seem to. I somehow accumulate multiple copies my various computer files in various places beyond what is necessary for back-up. I’d like to simplify the way I use my electronic devices so that I only have the things that I really use available.

Edward De Bono said in his wonderful book Simplicity that we need to challenge why things are there and be able to justify keeping them. Of course, he was talking as much about over-complicated processes as clutter, but I think the attitude is generally applicable. It’s not about being simplistic, or even being minimalist; It’s about clearing away the unnecessary and finding more elegant and streamlined ways of living.

I had intended to add something healthy and fitness-related, before I got sick. I have decided instead to tackle this health-thing from a food and nutrition perspective and add food I don’t usually eat.

I am a horribly picky eater and that will never really change. (I’m serious about being picky – hand me a slice of pizza and the only thing I’d like would be the bread-base!) In recent years, I’ve become better at trying things but still struggle to find foods – particularly healthy foods – that I like. My main meals are not usually unhealthy, they just consist of a limited number of staples, the few vegetables and other foods that I like. Every day this week I am going to either try something completely new or try to incorporate a food I don’t usually like to eat in a way that I can eat it. I don’t think I’ll ever get to the stage where it stops being an embarassing problem when I’m out. However, I have a dream of having more variety in my regular diet, of getting all of my nutrition from what I eat and not needing vitamin supplements (which I forget to take sometimes anyway) to ensure I’m giving my body what it needs.

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 39: Drop electronic clutter/Add new foods

  1. First of all I would like to say fantastic
    blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind
    in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!

    • Zaiene says:

      I usually have an idea of what I want to write before I sit down to write – it’s what prompts me to try in the first place. For this blog, if I’m a little stuck, I try two things: I think about injecting more of myself into my writing (normally if I’m stuck it means I’m getting bogged down being to boring and formal) or I just write without thinking and leave worrying about how it sounds until I re-read it.

Leave a Reply

