Week 29: Drop Internet/Add Morning Tasks

I’ve been trying to think for the past few days of what I would like to drop and add this week. As this is a bit like a reboot, I find myself wanting to redo many of my past drops and adds and try to implement them for a longer period, which has almost given me too much choice. That is why it has taken me all of my first day to finally settle on this weeks drop and add!

In the end, I have chosen two things that I think reflect the type of week I want to have: a productive but calm and simple week.

I am going to drop the internet – at least mostly. I realise that I’m a day late, but I have spent a lot of today letting myself get distracted by things on my phone or my computer. I still need to be able to check emails for work, and I still want to write or blog if the urge takes me, but I will limit myself to those things only. Especially, I will limit how much I will check my email. Unless I am expecting a particular email, I will check it twice a day only, once in the morning and once just before the end of business hours. I will also allow myself to use the computer to write or blog, but I will not allow myself to be distracted by anything else on the computer or online.

One of my biggest challenges is doing things that I aim to do, whether these are chores or merely aspirations. I have been better at this in recent months, but I find that I often use the internet to feel busy without actually doing any of the tasks I want to get done. In fact, often things that are supposed be fun or rewarding are disregarded in favour of the more convenient, less effort-requiring internet.

It’s almost a cliche to give up the computer, but all I really want to do is to use the computer only when I have a particular purpose, to limit the amount of time I spend on the computer and to stop my mind turning naturally to the computer whenever I pause. I want to choose other things ahead of the computer.

I am going to add morning tasks. As I said, one of my biggest challenges is actually getting things done and I’m very good at finding distractions. I often find the mornings when I don’t work are lovely, peaceful times for me to relax over breakfast and browse the internet (yes, it’s that pesky internet again), but I often don’t get around to doing things later in the day. Sometimes this is the best time for blogging (that and when I should be getting ready for bed, it seems!), but it is also the best time for doing other tasks or errands. All this week, I am going to to straight from breakfast into tasks that I need or want to get done, and then relax for the rest of the day.

About Zaiene

Life is large and I am small. Filled with over-complicated thoughts and little tendency towards action, this is me, doing the best I can right now.
This entry was posted in Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 29: Drop Internet/Add Morning Tasks

  1. I can relate. We had to live in a one room hotel for four weeks, me, three boys, two dogs, and my husband — another story. I had no computer for a month, except once a week when I went to the library to check emails and Facebook. No computer was very liberating. I need to do the same thing. And I mean “need.” I hope you can manage twice a day. That will inspire me. Thanks for your post.

  2. Pingback: Week 43: Drop “Poor Me”s/Add doing things when I feel like it. | Drop One, Add One

Leave a Reply

