Weekend 18: Drop complication/Add permission to fail

I can’t believe that it is already time to think about another weekend!

It’ll be a busy one, with a double lot of choir rehearsals tomorrow and then and afternoon tea catch up with a friend on Sunday. Already, I can feel my mind racing forward and thinking through all of the possible scenarios and trying to think of ways to be prepared for every eventuality. Basically, I can feel myself stressing already! I know I have a tendency to do this, but knowing it doesn’t always help me to stop! I have tried before to embrace a lack of certainty, and last weekend I realised that I had been clinging onto a fear of failure and embarassment that was making me anxious sapping the enjoyment out of things or causing me to avoid things completely. Now that I have realised this, I am going to focus on adding permission to fail and therefore also make it OK for me not to go over and over every possibility to guard against things going wrong. I want to learn to embrace failure as something that happens rather than something disasterous.

Rather similarly, I want to try to drop complication. As much as I tend to go over things that could go wrong, I also tend to go over and over things that I could or feel I should do. Instead of thinking that I will get up, get ready for choir and then leave, I start thinking that maybe I could fit more chores in before I leave, that maybe I should take more things with me just in case I have a chance to want them and so forth. I can feel my mind racing with all the things I want to remember for tomorrow.

Instead, I want to try to cut away from the complication. Whenever I find myself overthinking or overplanning, I want to stop and focus on one simple thing to do, one one simple solution, on one simple next step. Even things like what to have for lunch can become overcomplicated and I want to try be less stressed, more grounded and more able to enjoy the moment.

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Weekend Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend 18: Drop complication/Add permission to fail

  1. Pingback: Weekend 19 (and a brief 18 review): Drop late nights and late mornings/Add simplicity and acceptance | Drop One, Add One

  2. Pingback: Week 44: Weightloss Special | Drop One, Add One

Leave a Reply

