Weekend 9/Review: Freedom

The past few months I’ve felt so rushed and busy that I’ve not really looked after myself and even got quite sick for a few weeks (which, of course, gives me more to catch up on and feel anxious an stressed about). Drop One/Add One is supposed to help me to improve my life and how I feel, but the fact is that I’ve felt so run down that sometimes it has just felt like one extra thing to remember to do, one extra pressure I’ve put on myself. Even when it’s not anything active or very time consuming, my brain has sometimes added it to all the other things swirling around my head and turned it into a negative rather than a positive.

In short, I’ve been feeling fairly run-down.

So last week I dropped this. I just had a weekend of doing whatever. I didn’t have to be good or mindful or productive or positive or active or eat a certain way or tell myself kind things or hop around on one foot for an hour and have it transform my life.

It was good to have a rest. Sometimes, the best thing is just to do whatever.

About Zaiene

In the hustle and bustle of everyday life I am inspired by so many different ideals of how to live a happy, fulfilled and productive life but struggle to get around to it. Large scale changes are intimidating and difficult to sustain, so this is my bite-sized life experiment. Each week*, I will find one thing in my life to drop and one thing to add. I will try to drop things that have a negative, unhealthy or over-absorbing effect on my life. I will try to add things that will have a positive, healthy, empowering or useful effect on my life. The experiment is to see whether I can cope with these changes and whether they really do improve my life. *(I began it as each weekend, as a less intimidating challenge. After about ten months, I felt that I wanted whole-week - well, Monday-to-Friday - challenges.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

